Introductions - Say hello! đź‘‹

Hey everyone! There are a lot of passionate users of Pivotal Tracker both from within the former Pivotal and its clients and in the larger software community.

I wanted to start a thread where people can say hello and introduce themselves!

I am Grant Hutchins. I was a consultant at Pivotal Labs for just under ten years, from 2010 right up to the last day when Pivotal was acquired by VMware at the end of 2019. I had the great opportunity to work on about 30 different client teams, pair programming and (almost always) using Pivotal Tracker.

I have developed strong opinions about estimating stories, having a single prioritized backlog, and more. I think you should never put points on bugs and chores!

At the end of the day, the thing I miss most about Pivotal Tracker is its opinionated nature. I never had to configure a Tracker project in order to make it usable. It was always a great fit for a particular, hyper-efficient workflow. While I can’t claim that every team I worked on was able to achieve this workflow, the ones that did benefitted quite a bit from the approach.

I’m hopeful that someone can recapture the simplicity of the original tool. Until then, I am definitely interested in discussions of how to cope with teams using other tools, especially in this remote-first world we now find ourselves in. Too bad it can’t be as simple as Post-Its on a physical card wall these days.

3 Likes

Hey! Thank you for making an Introductions thread! I’m going to respond here and then make a separate reply for my own introduction, I think.

What office did you work in, Grant?

So, here’s my own introduction.